Share What You're Reading!
Go Back to Read a Book Review IndexRead Book Reviews

  Reviews of Fantasy & Science Fiction Books
  Divergent by Veronica Roth

Review by: Caitlin M.
Virginia, Grade 7

There are 5 fractions,Abnegation which is selflessness, Dauntless which is bravery, Amity which is peaceful, Erudite which is intelligents, and finally Candor which is honesty.

Tris Prior lives in a society where it is divided into 5 fractions. When they become old enough the choose the fraction they want to live in. Tris choose Dauntless. The Dauntless fraction stands for bravery. Tris was born and raised in the Abnegation fraction which stands for selflessness. She does not want to show or seem weak. She tries to put on a straight face a hide her feelings throughout the story. Tris never felt like she belonged in the Abnegation fraction. She has a brother named Caleb. She loved the idea of selflessness but she never could act out of it. But Caleb was full of selflessness. Tris makes a lot of friends and Enemies throughout the story.

I liked that this story shows that a girl can have power. This book has a little action and romance. I thought this book was very interesting and very detailed. Divergent didn't take me that long to read. This book was a little confusing at times but over all I thought it was a great book. Divergent is a very unique book. I would recommend this book to middle schoolers. Divergent is the first book in the trilogy. The 2 other books are Insurgent and Alliance.

See all the reviews of Divergent.
See all the reviews of Fantasy & Science Fiction books.
See all Grade 7 book reviews.