Publish
Illinois

By June R.
Grade 9, Illinois
Country of Origin: Puerto Rico

My Life in Chicago By June Esl communications 11 May 7,2004 This oral history is about me. First I will show background information about my life. Then I will share some information that I experienced immigrating to the United States. Last I will talk about my life IÆm the United States. My name is June. IÆm 15 years old. I was born on January 13, 1989. IÆm Puerto Rican. I was in Humacao, Puerto Rico. I live in Chicago. I go to high school. I am a student athlete. IÆm a freshman. I have 3 brothers and 1 sister. 1 of my brothers lives with me. We come to school together. My other brother lives in Puerto Rico. My sister is 8 months old. One of my brothers I donÆt know him. I met him once. I got my mom and my dad, my dad is 36 years old and my mom is 33 years old. My mom lives in Puerto Rico with one of my brothers. I came to Chicago on a plane. It was a long trip. It was boring. I came with my brother. We were both listening to music and sleeping. It was a long flight over here. I came to Chicago, because I wanted to live with my dad and I wanted to play baseball and basketball for high school. It took about 4 hours to get here. I was happy because I wanted to come to Chicago already. I was hot on the plane, but when I got here it was chilly outside. It was 5:00pm when I got here. I like it here. ItÆs fun. The school is different. I want to stay here. ItÆs boring in Puerto Rico. There are a lot of things to do in Chicago. I speak very good English. I donÆt want to go back. I lived here the first eight years if my life. The weather here is crazy, but itÆs good now. I like the summer. I played already for a high school basketball team it was fun you get to go to other school and see how they are. I like it because I will always be getting playing time. IÆm going to play next year again. In the future I would love to play baseball or basketball in the highest level because thatÆs my dreams and thatÆs what IÆm looking forward to do.


Back to Immigration