Publish
Illinois

By Elizabeth R.
Grade 10, Illinois
Country of Origin: Mexico

This oral history is about my self. My name is Elizabeth. First, I will talk about my life. The I will tell about my experience coming to the u.s. Last, I will explain my life living in the u.s. My name is Elizabeth. IĂm 16 years old. I am from Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico. My native language is Spanish, but I speak some English. I like to dance. When I am bored I listen to music, because it is my favorite hobby. My favorite food is Mexican food. My family is not too big, I have 2 brothers and 1 sister, but theyĂre with my mom in Atlanta, Georgia. I came to the United States in 2000, on July 8 at 12:00 am at the night. I was 11 years old, when I came here. I traveled by airplane from Mexico to the Unite States. The long trip was 3 hours and a half. I came with my uncle and his kids. I was nervous, sad, and happy. Nervous, because that was the fist time that I arrived to another country. Sad, because my mom stayed in Mexico, and happy, because I was going to see my father after 4 years. I came here to see my father and to get to know the country. When I arrived, the weather was hot. The trip cost 1,000 dollars. My life in the United States is good. I have living here for 3 years. I live with my dad and my stepmother. I felt angry, at the beginning of their relation, but now I donĂt. I like only the hot weather. The life in the United States is different from living in Mexico, because in Mexico you donĂt learn English. Also the people that are in the cars donĂt care if youĂre going to cross the street; I donĂt like American food, because it put you fat. When I came here I didnĂt know English, because IĂm learning at school. It is a little bit hard to learn English. Now I fell different than when I came, because after I was a little bit scared, but now I am not, because I know more about this country. The things that I know are the streets, language, some people, and more. I would like to stay here, to stay with my mom, but I donĂt want to because I like Mexico and I have my family there. My dream for the future is to be nurse.


Back to Immigration