Alabama
Ann Starks
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
State Department of Education
5303 Gordon Persons Building
50 North Ripley Street
Montgomery, AL 36130
334-242-9705
334-353-4682 Fax
astarks@alsde.edu

Alaska
Helen Mehrkens
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Educational Administrator, Program Division
Alaska Department of Education
801 West 10th Street
Juneau, AK 99801-1894
907-465-8730
907-465-3396 Fax helen_mehrkens@educ.state.ak.us


American Samoa

Filemoni Lauilefue
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Department of Education
Post Office Box 1132
Pago Pago, AS 96799
011-684-633-4240 Fax


Arizona

Bobbie O'Boyle
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Executive Director
Arizona Educational Foundation
1641 East Rancho Drive
Phoenix, AZ 85016
602-265-6333
602-265-5671 Fax
boboyle@qwest.net


Arkansas

Charles D. Watson
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
State Department of Education
Systems Planning & Support
Four State Capitol Mall
Little Rock, AR 72201-1071
501-682-4474
501-682-5162 Fax
cwatson@arkedu.k12.ar.us


California

Kim Edwards
Consultant, Office of Policy and Evaluation
McAuliffe Fellowship Program Coordinator State Department of Education
721 Capitol Mall
Sacramento, CA 95814
916-657-4845
916-657-5301 Fax
kedwards@cde.ca.gov


Colorado

Jody Ohmert Nordbye
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
State Department of Education
201 East Colfax Avenue
Denver, CO 80203-1799
303-866-6937
303-866-6938 Fax nordbye_j@cde.state.co.us


Connecticut

Gregory Kane
Supervisor of Technical Education
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Education Consultant
State Department of Education
Post Office Box 2219
Hartford, CT 06145-2219
860-566-8263
860-566-5623 Fax
gregory.kane@po.state.ct.us


Delaware

Betty Torbert
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
State Department of Public Instruction
Townsend Building
Post Office Box 1402
Dover, DE 19903
302-739-4602
302-739-4654 Fax
btorbert@state.de.us

Department of Defense Education Activity (DoDEA)

Carol Drechsel
Professional Development Specialist
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Professional Development Division
Department of Defense Education Activity, PDEE - 4th Floor
4040 North Fairfax Drive, Room 4-60
Arlington, VA 22203
703-694-4414, ext. 1434
703-696-6457 Fax
cdrechse@hq.dodea.edu


District of Columbia

Carolyn Pinckney
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Coordinator of Teacher Affairs
District of Columbia Public Schools
825 North Capitol Avenue, Suite 9051
Washington, DC 20002
202-442-5616
202-442-5017 Fax
carolyn.pinckney@k12.dc.us


Florida

Olga Gary
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Division of Human Development
State Department of Education
325 West Gaines Street, Suite 124
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0400
850-922-9750
850-413-0026 Fax
ogary@mail.doe.state.fl.us


Georgia

Judy Floyd
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
State Department of Education
205 Butler Street, SE
2054 Twin Towers East
Atlanta, GA 30334-5010
404-657-2949
404-657-6867 Fax
judyfloyd@doe.k12.ga.us

Guam

Tony Diaz
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Department of Education
Post Office Box DE
Agana, GU 96932
011-671-475-0457
011-671-472-5003 Fax mreidy@guam.doe.edu.gu

 


Hawaii

Elizabeth Wong
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Affirmative Action Coordinator
State Department of Education
Post Office Box 2360
Honolulu, HI 96804
808-586-3280
808-586-3419 Fax
Elizabeth_Wong@notes.k12.hi.us



Idaho

Allison Westfall
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Public Information Officer
State Department of Education
Office of the Superintendent
Post Office Box 83702
650 West State Street
Boise, ID 83720-0027
208-332-6800
208-334-2228 Fax awestfal@sde.state.id.us


Illinois

Kim Knauer
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Communications Division
State Board of Education
100 North First Street
Springfield, IL 62777-0001
217-782-4648
217-524-8585 Fax kknauer@smtp.isbe.state.il.us

Ann Keran
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Communications Division
State Board of Education
100 North First Street
Springfield, IL 62777-0001
217-782-4648
217-524-8585 Fax akeran@smtp.isbe.state.il.us


Indiana

Cathy Danyluk
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
State Department of Education
Room 229, State House
Indianapolis, IN 46214-2798
317-232-9150
317-232-9140 Fax cdanyluk@doe.state.in.us


Iowa

Susan Fischer
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
State Department of Education
Grimes State Office Building
Des Moines, IA 50319-0146
515-281-3605
515-281-7669 Fax
sfische@ed.state.ia.us

Kansas

Bob Gast & Sherry Bukovatz
Teacher of the Year Coordinators
Recognition Programs, Graphic & Printing
State Department of Education
120 Southeast Tenth Avenue
Topeka, KS 66612-1182
785-296-4876
785-296-7933 Fax bgast@ksbe.state.ks.us sbukovatz@ksbe.state.ks.us

Kentucky

Donna Melton
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Program Consultant
State Department of Education
500 Mero Street - 19th Floor
Frankfort, KY 40601
502-564-3421
502-564-6470 Fax
dmelton@kde.state.ky.us


Louisiana

Melissa Anders
Education Program Specialist
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
State Department of Education
Office of Quality Educators
Room 304 626
North 4th Street Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064
225-342-3383
225-342-7367 Fax manders@mail.doe.state.la.us

Maine

David Cadigan
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
State Department of Education
#23 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0023
207-624-6636
207-624-6841 Fax david.cadigan@state.me.us



Maryland

Darla Strouse
Teacher of the Year Coordinator Director
Partnerships, Research & Development
State Department of Education
200 West Baltimore Street, 5th Floor Baltimore, MD 21201
410-767-0369
410-333-3867 Fax dstrouse@msde.state.md.us


Massachusetts

Deborah Walker
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
State Department of Education
350 Main Street, Fifth Floor
Malden, MA 02148
781-388-3300, ext. 457
781-388-3396 Fax
djwalker@doe.mass.edu



Michigan

Cheryl Poole
Consultant, Professional Development
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
State Department of Education
Box 30008
Lansing, MI 48933
517-241-4546
517-335-0592 Fax
poolecl@state.mi.us


Minnesota

Tom Nordby
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Communications Consultant
Education Minnesota
41 Sherburne Avenue
St. Paul, MN 55103-6969
612-292-4865
800-652-9073
612-292-4868 Fax
tnordby@educationminnesota.org


Mississippi

Daphne Buckley

Teacher of the Year Co-Coordinator
Director, Mississippi Teacher Center
State Department of Education
359 Northwest Street
Suite 145
Jackson, MS 39201
601-359-3631
601-359-1728 Fax
dbuckley@mdek12.state.ms.us

Cecily McNair
Teacher of the Year Co-Coordinator
State Department of Education
359 Northwest Street
Suite 145
Jackson, MS 39201
601-359-3631
601-359-1728 Fax
cmcnair@mde.k12.ms.us


Missouri

Jean Cole
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Department of Elementary & Secondary Education
Post Office Box 480
Jefferson State Office Building
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0480
573-751-2661
573-526-4261 Fax jcole@mail.dese.state.mo.us


Montana

Judy McMaster
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Montana Education Association
1232 East Sixth Avenue
Helena, MT 59601
406-442-4250
406-443-5081 Fax
jmcmaster@nea.org


Nebraska

Beverly Newton, Dave Ankenman and Ann Masters
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
State Department of Education
Post Office Box 94987
301 Centennial Mall
South Lincoln, NE 68509-4987
402-471-4865
402-471-0117 Fax bnewton@nde4.nde.state.ne.us ankenman@nde.state.ne.us

 


Nevada

Mary Geisler
Teacher of the Year Program Coordinator
State Department of Education
700 East 5th Street
Carson City, NV 89701-5050
775-687-9224
775-687-9202 Fax
mgeisler@nsn.k12.nv.us


New Hampshire

VACANT
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
State Department of Education
101 Pleasant Street
State Office Park South
Concord, NH 03301
603-271-8315
603-271-1953 fax asheehan@ed.state.nh.us


New Jersey

Susan Sliker
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Education Program Specialist
State Department of Education
100 Riverview Plaza, CN 500
Trenton, NJ 08625-0500
609-984-6314
609-633-9825 Fax ssliker@doe.state.nj.us


New Mexico

Vicki Breen
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
State Department of Education
Education Building
300 Don Gaspar
Santa Fe, NM 87501-2786
505-827-6559
505-827-6694 Fax
vickib@swcp.com


Pat Graff
President, New Mexico State Teachers
of the Year
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
La Cueva High School
801 Krim, NE
Albuquerque, NM 87109
505-821-2331
505-797-2250 Fax
pgraff@aol.com


New York

Cheryl Fries
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Assistant in Higher Education
State Department of Education
Professional Career Opportunity
Programs Bureau
Room 962 EBA
Albany, NY 12234
518-486-6042
518-486-3239 Fax
cfries@mail.nysed.gov


North Carolina

Cecil Banks
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Teacher Education Consultant
State Department of Public Instruction
Education Building
301 North Wilmington Street
Raleigh, NC 27601-2825
919-715-1147
919-715-1153 Fax
cbanks@dpi.state.nc.us

North Dakota

Linda Edwards
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Director of Professional Development
North Dakota Education Association
P. O. Box 5005
Bismarck, ND 58501
701-223-0450
701-224-8535 Fax
liedwards@nea.org


Northern Mariana Islands

Lou Mendiola
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Department of Education
Post Office Box 1370
Chalan Kanoa Saipan, MP 96950
670-664-3770
670-664-3798 Fax
loumendiola@hotmail.com


Ohio

Jeanine Ellis
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
State Department of Education
Professional Development
Cluster 65 South Front Street, Room 1009
Columbus, OH 43215-4183
614-466-1788
614-728-3058 Fax
PD_ELLIS@ode.ohio.gov


Oklahoma

Linda Ruhman
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Director, Residency/Professional Development
State Department of Education
Hodge Education Building
2500 North Lincoln Boulevard, Suite 212
Oklahoma City, OK 73105-4599
405-521-4527
405-521-6205 Fax Linda_Ruhman@mail.sde.state.ok.us patti_meier@mail.sde.state.ok.us


Oregon

Rob Larson
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Policy & Research Analyst
State Department of Education
Public Service Building
255 Capitol Street, NE
Salem, OR 97310-0203
503-378-3600, ext. 2354
503-378-5156 Fax
rob.larson@state.or.us

Nanci Schneider
Teacher of the Year Co-Coordinator
Director, School and District Report Card
State Department of Education
Public Service Building
255 Capitol Street, NE
Salem, OR 97310-0203
503-378-3600, ext. 2353
503-378-5156 Fax
nanci.schneider@state.or.us


Pennsylvania

Dr. Parker Martin
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Division of School Improvement
Pennsylvania Department of Education
333 Market Street, 8th Floor
Harrisburg, PA 17126-0333
717-783-4307
717-783-6617 Fax
pamartin@state.pa.us


Puerto Rico

Pablo Rivera
Special Assistance Coordinator Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Puerto Rico Department of Education
Office of the Secretary
Post Office Box 190759
San Juan, PR 00919-0759
787-759-2000, ext. 2698
787-753-1804 Fax


Rhode Island

Doris Anselmo
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Education Consultant
Rhode Island Department of Education
255 Westminster Street - Shepard Building
Providence, RI 02903-3400
401-277-4600, ext 2252
401-277-2048 Fax
ride1503@ride.ri.net


South Carolina

Barbara Ann Walker
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
State Department of Education
1429 Senate Street, Room 1002
Columbia, SC 29201
803-734-3392
803-734-3389 fax
bwalker@sde.state.sc.us


South Dakota

Terri Cordrey
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Office of Technical Assistance
700 Governors Drive
Kneip Building Pierre, SD 57501-2291
605-773-4662
605-773-3782 Fax
terri_cordrey@state.sd.us


Tennessee

Cindy Fagan Benefield (interim)
Office of Professional Development
Tennessee Department of Education
710 James Robertson Parkway
Nashville, TN 37243
615-532-4712
615-532-8312 Fax
cfagan@mail.state.tn.us


Texas

Marilyn Kuelhem
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Texas Education Agency
William B. Travis Building
1701 North Congress Avenue, Room 2-180
Austin, TX 78701-1494
512-463-9000
512-463-5947 Fax
mkuehlem@tea.tetn.net


Utah

Angenette Pickett
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Public Information Specialist
Utah State Office of Education
250 East 500
South Salt Lake City, UT 84111
801-538-7525
801-538-7768 Fax
apickett@usoe.k12.ut.us


Vermont

Deb Armitage
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Department of Professional Development
State Department of Education
120 State Street - 5th Floor
Montpelier, VT 05620-2501
802-828-5409
802-828-3146 Fax
darmitage@doe.state.vt.us


Virginia

Byrd Latham
Virginia Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Division of Teacher Education & Licensure
State Department of Education
Post Office Box 2120
Richmond, VA 23218-2120
804-225-2104
804-786-6759 Fax
blatham@pen.k12.va.us


Virgin Islands

Rosalia Payne
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Superintendent, St. Thomas District Schools
Post Office Box 11876
St. Thomas, VI 00801
340-775-2250, ext. 244
340-775-7381 Fax
rpayne@sttj.k12.vi.us


Washington

Julie Hanson
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
State Department of Public Instruction
Old Capitol Building
Post Office Box 47200
Olympia, WA 98516
360-586-3186
360-586-0247 Fax
jhanson@ospi.wednet.edu


West Virginia

Tony Smedley
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
State Department of Education
Office of Professional Development
1900 Kanawha Boulevard, East Building 6, Room 262
Charleston, WV 25305-0330
304-558-2702
304-558-0882 Fax tsmedley@access.k12.wv.us


Wisconsin

Dean Gagnon
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Agriculture Education Consultant
State Department of Public Instruction 125 South Webster Street
Post Office Box 7841
Madison, WI 53707-7841
608-267-9255
608-267-9275 Fax gagnodp@mail.state.wi.us


Wyoming

Sharon Wilkinson
Public Information Officer
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
State Department of Education
Hathaway Building, Second Floor
2300 Capitol Avenue
Cheyenne, WY 82002-0050
307-777-6386
307-777-6234 Fax
swilki@state.wy.us

 
Scholastic is the proud corporate sponsor of the National Teacher of the Year Program.